The Porch

Welcome to DORO – Pull Up a Chair

The Life in Your Years

2012 New Start

The 2012 Start!

Entering the 2nd week of the year 2012, many of us are already reconsidering some of those resolutions. They always sound so good in the days leading up to the New Year and nothing feels impossible when the ball drops at midnight. A few days later, school starts again, everyone is back hard at work and there’s no Dick Clark countdown to motivate us each day.

But as we begin to gather on The Porch again, sharing stories, dreams and plans for increased productivity, it’s important to make sure that we keep the most important goals in the forefront. Just is critical is the daily decision to remember those personal landmarks and courageously pursue them, though they may only be important to us.

A hospice nurse wrote a blog post about the five regrets that people have shared as they prepare to make their transition. What gave me the most relief while reading it was the fact that each of the people made their way to peace. Finding peace is a journey, it requires action. We don’t happen upon it, but rather we make choices daily that lead us to that place.

In a nutshell, the five regrets that the nurse identified in the blog were the following:

  1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
  2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.
  3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
  4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

First, making the changes necessary to avoid regret is a major step. Each time we adapt our lives to fit the happy place we envision, we remove regret. Can we do the same for our businesses and professions? What’s the look back list for your business? I’ll make mine and share over the next few weeks.

For now, we’re back on The Porch and hopefully, prayerfully working on a 2012 that we will be able to say was “The Best Year of My Life So Far!”

Let’s get it!

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 01/10/2012 by in DOOR #3.
