The Porch

Welcome to DORO – Pull Up a Chair

I’m About to Do MY Thing

‎”Ladies and gentlemen, I conclude by saying if you can’t support me or you can’t endorse me, get out of my way. You do your thing, and let me do mine. God bless you.” ~ Shirley Chisholm

The 1972 Democratic Race

There’s no doubt that Shirley Chisholm meant every single word of that quote. Long before Barack had the audacity to hope, Ms. Chisholm stood and dared to “throw her bonnet”(as Walter Cronkite dubbed it)  into the Presidential Election ring.  After beginning her career in education, Ms. Chisholm decided that she had a lot to say, people to serve and was qualified to lead this country. Imagine the naysayers – A woman? A black woman wants to run for the President of these here United States?  It’s International Women’s History Day. In honor of Chisholm, Jenever Jackson, Harriet Tubman, Condoleezza Rice, Octavia Butler, Wilma Rudolph, Mother Clara Hale and my many other heroines, I MUST do my thing.

Simply speaking, writing or reading about these women won’t cut it. They lived exemplary lives befitting of praise and accolades. But moreso, they DID it and by doing so, they demand that we lay aside excuses and self-sabotaging behavior. Today ladies – begin to do YOUR thing!

When I die, I want to be remembered as a woman who lived in the twentieth century and who dared to be a catalyst for change. I don’t want be remembered as the first black woman who went to Congress, and I don’t even want to be remembered as the first woman who happened to be black to make a bid for the presidency. I want to be remembered as a woman who fought for change in the twentieth century. That’s what I want.” Shirley Chisholm

LISTEN: Shirley Chisholm Makes Her Demand

One comment on “I’m About to Do MY Thing

  1. Pamela Ellis
    03/08/2011

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

