The Porch

Welcome to DORO – Pull Up a Chair

“I Did It My Way” – TE Day 3

Hell, there are no rules here – we’re trying to accomplish something.” Thomas Edison


Striking out and starting a new adventure is never easy. Often, it’s unpopular as well. At some point, a trusted loved one or friend will call you crazy. You can bet they’ll have hushed conversations with each other as to your sanity – wondering which medication that you should try. But somewhere, deep inside, you feel that you’ve just got to try to make “this” happen. Whatever your “this” is, it often lands outside the boundaries of the  9-to-5 daily, vacation annually routine. It often means that you take those educational degrees and work experience and apply them to a whole new world that appears to be in no way connected to your past.


However, you can see the links and connections clearly. You see an audience or buyer where no one else would look (how else could we explain the Snuggie and the Chia Pet?) At the risk of being called insane or giving up all your standard comforts – both of which I’ve experienced – there are times you just have to live it out. Setting aside those stability of now, you invest your skills in the hope of “one day.” To be real, often that one day never comes. But when it does, oh boy when it does, there’s nothing else like it.


The rules and standard order to comfortable living may not always fit the plan when you’re trying to build your new space. It may be as adventurous as traveling to another part of the world or as self-fulfilling as getting in shape. Your road could be personally rewarding, requiring you to learn a new language or consider a relationship. Whatever it is, the standard rules need not apply. We’re not talking about anything illegal or immoral, just charting your own path. At then end, what’s most important is that you lived out your dream as you decided and designed. Do it all your way.


Click to Listen to Frank Sinatra – My Way
Partial Lyrics:
“I’ve lived a life that’s full
I traveled each and every highway
And more, much more than this
I did it my way 

Regrets I’ve had a few
But then again too few to mention
I did what I had to do
And saw it through without exemption

I planned each charted course
Each careful step along the byway
And more, much more than this
I did it my way

Yes there were times I’m sure you knew
When I bit off more than I could chew
But through it all when there was doubt
I ate it up and spit it out, I faced it all
And I stood tall and did it my way

I’ve loved, I’ve laughed and cried
I’ve had my fill, my share of losing
And now as tears subside
I find it all so amusing

To think I did all that
And may I say not in a shy way
Oh no, oh no, not me
I did it my way”

Leave a Reply

